05 November 2019

NGS Awards and Competitions Deadline: 15 December 2019

NGS Awards and Competitions Deadline: 15 December 2019 

Each year the National Genealogical Society (NGS) recognizes excellence in the field of genealogy by presenting awards to honor individuals and organizations for their volunteerism, scholarship, and achievements. Last year NGS presented awards to thirty-four recipients who made outstanding contributions to NGS programs or performed exceptional work in genealogy, history, biography, or heraldry. The honorees hailed from throughout the United States, representing states from coast to coast. The application deadline for the 2020 NGS Awards and Competitions is 15 December 2019.

“We encourage family historians and genealogists to nominate extraordinary individuals and genealogical organizations,” said Janet Bailey, chair of the Society’s Awards Committee. “They may also submit their own applications for our competitions. Our goal is to recognize and celebrate notable contributions to the field of genealogy.” The awards will be presented at the NGS Family History Conference in May 2020 in Salt Lake City, Utah.

Award categories include:
  • Award of Merit
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • The Shirley Langdon Wilcox Award for Exemplary Volunteerism
  • Fellow of the National Genealogical Society (FNGS)
  • The Filby Award for Genealogical Librarianship

Competitions are as follows:
  • Family History Writing Contest
  • Rubincam Youth Writing Competition
  • Awards for Excellence
    • Genealogy and Family History Book
    • Genealogical Methods and Sources
  • NGS Newsletter Competition
    • Major Genealogical or Historical Societies
    • County/Local Genealogical or Historical Societies
    • Family Associations
Entry forms and full information can be found at the NGS website. Questions can be sent to [email protected].

No comments:

Post a Comment